July prayer letter

Dear Praying Friends,

I hardly know where to begin! Another month has flown by, jam-packed full of many reasons to praise and thank the Lord… and many adventures! There’s no way I can fit them all on one page, but I’ll try to give a good overview anyway.

So many things are falling together as I prepare to leave for PNG. The Lord has provided several people—several of you!—to take over my cleaning and nanny jobs and even buy my car as soon as my work permit comes. Others have already begun taking over church responsibilities, and someone is even coming to take my place in the little basement room at Mrs. Washer’s! Everything is poised and ready for that exciting moment when I call the embassy and hear, not the usual “immigration approval not yet received,” but… whatever it is they say to tell me I’m all set!! I hope and pray that will be one of these days very soon, but it’s all in the Lord’s hands. What a blessing to know that He’ll get it through in His perfect timing—the absolute BEST time for me and for Joy Christian School!

You might be wondering, what happens after the work permit comes? Well, I may think I’m scrambling now but I’m sure it will be a real whirlwind then! That’s when I’ll purchase my ticket and finish up last-minute paperwork before my parents come to carry me off for a couple of weeks with them in Virginia while I wait for my visa. Then I’m off!!!!!!!!!!

This summer I’ve enjoyed several trips home to Virginia. I believe I’ve seen my family more this summer than I usually do in a year or two! I was able to be there for the last day of VBS at Mount Moriah, and earlier in the month I surprised my Grandma Ellinghausen for her birthday party. I almost thought that particular little scheme of mine was going to fall through when my car wouldn’t start after I stopped for gas, but the Lord had graciously prompted my father last Christmas to give me membership in AAA, and their man got me back on the road in a jiffy. Then, as days like that go, I had to detour around an accident and lost more time, so I just knew everyone would have gone home, but when I arrived they were still all sitting around the table talking, and the expression on Grandma’s face was priceless! I’m deeply thankful for these precious family times before my long absence while I’m in PNG. I’m also grateful for the Lord’s gift of safety as I traveled—both with a wire breaking, which could have easily flopped backwards and started a fire, and another time as I drove through violent rain. For a couple of hours I even drove down the middle of the road to keep from hydroplaning! Don’t worry, it was a long, straight divided highway way out in the country and there weren’t any other cars in sight.

I have been overwhelmed again and again this month by the love and supportiveness of so many friends. Two churches in particular have been astoundingly generous: Mount Moriah Baptist in Powhatan, VA, which is where I grew up, and Mount Calvary Baptist in Greenville, SC, where I have been since 2003. Every time I attend a service at either church, many people tell me they are praying for me, some of them every day! At Mount Moriah, they even made me the “missionary of the year” for Vacation Bible School and the children raised quite a large offering. Both churches have pledged generous support, and many, many individuals have given in addition to the church’s support. Some of these people I don’t even know! It is encouraging (and rebuking!) to see the Lord provide so abundantly. Through all of these praying and giving people, He has seen fit to raise my support from around 25% at this time last month to nearly 90%! Thank Him with me!

Well, that’s all my space for now so I’d better close. Again, thank you so much for your continued prayers. It’s exciting to see how the Lord will answer! I’ll be sure to let you know if I hear about that permit before next prayer letter time.

For the sake of His name,
Elizabeth Ellinghausen

Adventures with Ellie 090731.pdf

Leave a Reply

