Another delay

Dear praying friends,

First of all, a great big THANK YOU to all who replied to my news about my visa being approved! My inbox was just overflowing, and my heart was full as I read the many little notes telling me of your joy at the news and assuring me of your prayers. It’s always such a tremendous encouragement to receive that kind of response– a reminder of how many are praying and really having such a vital part in what I am doing. I always love that, but it has been a special blessing this week.

Now for the latest on the current adventure. 🙂 I had hoped to use this space telling about travel plans, but instead I have another delay that I would ask you to join me in bringing before the Lord. As I told you in the last update, my visa has been approved, for which I’m very thankful. The next step in the process is for the Immigration Department in Port Moresby to send a fax to the PNG Embassy in Washington DC, informing them of the approval so they can stamp the visa in my passport and mail it back to me. All of this, as I understand, should really be able to be done very quickly– perhaps a day or two– which is why I had hoped to leave this week. However, for some reason though those in PNG say that they have sent that fax to Washington (last week), the people in Washington say they still have not received it (as of today). So, obviously, since I can’t purchase my ticket until I have that visa, the chances are looking pretty slim that I’ll be able to fly to PNG this coming weekend.

All this has been in the Lord’s plan all along. There is very little we can do about the situation, but we know the One Who can do any and everything about it. Please pray that I will weather this delay in the grace of God with a spirit of joy rather than distress, and that He will get me to PNG in His perfect way and time

for the sake of His name!

Elizabeth E.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~
“It is a mercy that our lives are not left for us to plan, but that our Father chooses for us; else might we sometimes turn away from our best blessings, and put from us the choicest and loveliest gifts of His providence.” -Mrs. C. H. Spurgeon

Leave a Reply

