February prayer letter

Dear Praying Friends,

Greetings once again from good old Powhatan, Virginia. I’m sitting at my aunt’s kitchen table on my weekly visit, catching up on some things while my cousin does his schoolwork. Aunt Becky has shared lots of good tips from her years of teaching experience, and our day together is always a joy. As I listen to Matthew do his math flashcards and spelling test, I can’t help but wish I was hearing different voices answer the questions in a very different place, but obviously the Lord’s timing has not come yet. My heart fails but I am determined to hold out to the end. As Matthew pointed out in the poem at the beginning of Pilgrims Progress, “Dark clouds bring waters, when the bright bring none; Yea, dark, or bright, if they their silver drops Cause to descend, the earth by yielding crops Gives praise to both….” And so shall I. This month my Bible reading took me to Job, and since I’ve never quite understood it I decided to follow along as I read in another of Dr. Layton Talbert’s books, Beyond Suffering. It has been excellent. Though my trial is absolutely nothing in comparison with Job’s, I’ve been particularly encouraged with the fact that, despite all of his complaints, he is called patient (of all things!) in the book of James. Though his heart did fail he endured and maintained his integrity and faith under great pressure. Please pray for me to do the same. Honestly my little ordeal is a very light grey cloud, so to speak, and isn’t worth a bit of complaint, but unfortunately I’m not quite sanctified yet and feel pretty sorry for myself sometimes. I’m definitely “standin’ in the need of prayer.”

Robinson Crusoe said that even in the worst of situations we can always find something “to set in the description of good and evil on the credit side of the account,” and that has been abundantly true for me. The home scenes I am sure will grow even dearer when they are far behind, and certainly it has been a blessing to spend lots of time with friends, both old and new, and my family. This month I celebrated my twenty-fifth birthday, the first at home since I turned eighteen! It was good to sit around the kitchen table with the whole family there like old times. Towards the end of the month Daddy had surgery to remove his gall bladder, and seems to be recovering well. I was able to visit Grandpa and Grandma quite a bit and do some sewing and alterations there, and I especially enjoyed sledding with Matthew and building up faster and longer trails to make the sledding even better. I also was able to do a great deal of reading which was very profitable.

Obviously, please do keep praying for the paperwork situation, which has been frustrating to say the least. Its been over nine months now since the process began for me, and others have been waiting even longer. I told you in my last letter that we’d been told our visa approvals had been faxed to Washington on Jan. 20th, but apparently not received. This month the same thing has happened once or twice more. It certainly seems like a stalemate; we’re checking to make sure they were sent to the correct fax number but I haven’t heard yet whether thats been confirmed. Please pray for us not to be distressed but to encourage ourselves in the LORD our God. We are confident that He is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we could ask or think.

For the sake of His name,
Elizabeth Ellinghausen

Adventures with Ellie 100224.pdf

Leave a Reply

