March Prayer Letter

Dear Praying Friends,

Happy Spring to you all! When people ask me what my favorite season is, I usually say “the next one,” but for right now I am absolutely enjoying this one! After being in the city for the past six years it has been wonderful to be back in the country and watch each of the different flowers and trees burst into bloom in their turn: first the crocuses and daffodils, then violets and bleeding hearts (my favorite), then all at once peach and pear trees, forsythia and japonica bushes, hyacinths, camellias, and so many others in a burst of exuberant color.

I held off a little later than usual on this month’s letter because I was really hoping to have some good news to share with you. I think I’ve told you in the past that two other ladies under my mission have also been waiting for their PNG papers along with me. I believe all of our applications were submitted together last spring. Well, last Thursday one of those ladies got word that her approval had been received in Washington!!!! We are rejoicing with her, and hoping the other two approvals will come through very soon. Please continue to bring this before the Lord for us. I was impressed again this month by Paul’s request for the Corinthians to join in helping him and Timothy by praying for them, so that there would be lots of people to join in giving thanks for what happened as a result of those prayers (2 Cor. 1:11). The long wait has really been a test of our perseverance in prayer, hasn’t it? How exciting it will be to see the glory the Lord gets when it’s finally done!

This has been the month of family history. One day toward the beginning of the month I went with my mother, aunt, and a bunch of cousins to clean out a family cemetery that my aunt recently discovered in the next county. My fifth great grandfather and grandmother, James and Mary Brown, are buried there. Then a couple of days ago I got inspired to do some research on genealogies, and my aunt and I were able to extend our family tree knowledge from Edward II in the 1300s (my 19th great grandfather) back to the 8-900s (my 32nd, 33rd, and 34th great grandfathers in three different lines), without ancestry.com, mind you. 🙂 That was fun. It really makes history come alive when you realize people who did different things in history were your own ancestors! I had a good time talking with my paternal grandparents about stories from their family history too. These old stories, whether they be of greatness or not-so-greatness :-), hold many valuable lessons for us.

I would really like to thank you all for your faithfulness and perseverance in praying for me. Mr. Smith (missionary in Kiari) mentioned to me what an encouragement it is for them to realize that they can sit out in the middle of the bush and have an impact, through prayer, on the situation in Port Moresby, or anywhere else in the world for that matter. I guess it works both ways—PNG seems a long way away (and it is), but through our prayers we too can have an impact on what goes on there. As Mr. Smith said, “Perhaps that is one of the main reasons that the Lord has brought us into these waters, to force us to pray more. May the Lord get glory by our utter helplessness to make something happen and our complete dependence on Him to do it!” Amen!

For the sake of His name,
Elizabeth Ellinghausen

“Patience is the fair handmaid and daughter of faith; we cheerfully wait when we are certain that we shall not wait in vain…. We shall not grow weary of waiting upon God if we remember how long and how graciously he once waited for us.” –Spurgeon, Treasury of David

Adventures with Ellie 100331.pdf

One Response to “March Prayer Letter”

  1. Lynnette Says:

    Thank you for the reminder of a daily need for dependence. It is not just a one-time event. Once He answers one prayer, there is another in need of asking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

