New Friends

This week we had school as usual. On Wednesday I taught all three grades because Tiffany was sick. That was fun. J More and more classes are being completed, and first grade finished up on Thursday. Lord willing we will finish second and fourth grades this week. Tiffany and Catherine will be gone to a ladies’ retreat at Kilau (one of the churches where some other GFA missionaries minister– about a five hour drive from here), so I’ll be teaching everything myself. I’m excited. J

Because of the Ladies’ Bung (gathering), I will be the only whiteskin meri (white woman) in Kiari for the week! We’re expecting a couple of men to come from America and help on the airstrip, and I’m excited about getting to help feed them all. It’s not much fun cooking just for myself, so I’ll enjoy this. I’m looking forward to the extra time with the Smith kids too!

This past Thursday Esther, one of our second graders, let me walk home with her to visit her aunt, Nensi (Nancy), who lives next door for the time being. Nensi is expecting and is on PNG version of “bedrest”, which just means she’s not able to go work in her garden. The time weighs heavily on her hands, and I’ve had lots of extra time on my hands too, so we were both excited to get together. When I arrived her husband Pita (Peter) was there too, and they were such a huge encouragement to me. They spent some time helping some missionaries in another part of PNG, and told me about some things they had learned. It was such a blessing to listen to their wise counsel and enjoy the good Christian fellowship.

Please pray especially over the next couple of weeks as the Smiths and I make decisions about the next school year. We really desire for the Lord to make our path clear. I can’t tell you how much I feel the need of your prayers in this regard.

Hope you have a great week!

Elizabeth

“O use me, Lord, use even me, Just as Thou wilt, and when, and where….” -Frances Ridley Havergal

