On my own

This has been yet another busy week. 🙂 I think I say that every time, but it’s true! Tiffany’s mumu last Thursday was nice. There were two pigs in it, so that made it yummy. The folks were so sad to see her go. They gave her many bilums (rope bags) that they’d made for her– the one that made us all cry was the very first one. It said “Lukim yu long heven”– “See you in heaven”. On Friday we moved all of the rest of the school stuff down from the old school building to the current school location on the other side of the duplex where I live. You should see all of the boxes– I definitely have my work cut out for me! On Saturday I went to prayer meeting at church in the morning, then came back to tackle about 5 loads of laundry. It turned into an all-day affair when in the early afternoon a bunch of people came bringing a woman who had gotten a nasty cut in a fight with her husband’s other wife. Apparently the other wife had aimed for her head with a bush knife (machete), and she threw up her arm to fend off the blow. I held the flashlight (the clinic has no electricity) while Catherine put in I don’t know how many stitches, inside and out. I think she used four or five spools of suture thread. After that was over I went back across the road to my house and finished my laundry just in time for our team meeting. Sunday was pretty normal, except for lots more goodbyes for Tiffany. Monday morning the chopper came bringing Jeff and his brother and taking Tiffany, Mr. and Mrs. Smith, and (surprise!) Catherine, who was sick and not getting better so she went in to see the doctor in town. The rest of the time since then I’ve basically been doing some cleaning projects in my house and fixing the noon meals for everyone with the help of the Smith girls. Last night was an evangelistic fellowship at the Mau hauslain. Today is my fifth day in a row to make the hike to or past church. 🙂 The Smiths will be coming back on Friday. Please pray for Catherine’s speedy recovery.

Well, it’s time to head to church so I’ll close for now. Hope you’re having a great week!

Elizabeth

“O use me, Lord, use even me, Just as Thou wilt, and when, and where….” -Frances Ridley Havergal

