School work

This week has been pretty uneventful. I’ve been doing a lot of work around my house and the school, cleaning out the my house in preparation for a yard sale yesterday, and progressing on the school a little at a time in preparation for the next school year. I finished sorting, inventorying, and putting away the textbooks and got through the school supplies too. Now for visuals and all the random stuff that doesn’t really fall into any of those categories…

At the yard sale yesterday I had the greatest of fun explaining a curling iron (one of the preacher boys was the first person to ask me what it was!) and, even better, various toiletries… and the very best of all was Stress Reducing Pillow Mist!!!! Hehehe 🙂

Just before I started writing this I was telling the Smiths I was having a hard time thinking of things to write about, and Mr. Smith said I should tell you about the two men that walked out of church just before it ended this morning. It was an old man and a young man– I think the old man was the young man’s grandpa. Anyway, when the rest of us came out a minute or two later, the old man was grabbing his tommyhawk (axe) from behind a log and chasing the young man out of the churchyard! Who knows what that was all about… You can definitely say we rarely lack excitement around here! 🙂

There’s a prayer letter about to come out (maybe Wednesday) with lots of prayer requests, but for now please pray for continued school preparations. I think the big meeting I’ve been asking you to pray about when we tell the students and parents about which grade will sit out will be on Oct. 6th. Who knows when school will actually start– probably November at the earliest– Jeff said that as of Friday our boxes of school books hadn’t gotten to the Goroka PO, so it seems highly unlikely that they’ll arrive before he boards the chopper for Kiari on Monday morning and be here in time to start school this month. I guess it is possible, but it would require the PO workers to get everything unloaded from the plane and processed really fast… that is assuming the boxes are on the plane… and then it would require a lot of juggling on Jeff’s part to get it all to the hangar and lined up to go to Kiari. So, as people pray here frequently, I’m just putting it all in the Lord’s hands. It’s mighty good to know we’re on His perfect timetable.

Have a great week!

Elizabeth

“O use me, Lord, use even me, Just as Thou wilt, and when, and where….” -Frances Ridley Havergal

