Mercy drops round us are falling…

…but for the showers we plead! And that would refer to both literal rain showers and spiritual “showers of blessing.” I thought of this tonight as the skies darkened and rain drummed on my tin roof (and I cheered!) for just a few minutes before it decreased to mere sprinkles, leaving me with only about 5 gal. of water from my roof. How desperately we need the rain, but how much more desperately we need the Lord to shower His blessing on our work here! So many times believers and missionaries alike have given forth the Word clearly to lost men and women with few to no visible results. So many have heard again and again but have not yet “turned heart”. Please plead with us for the Lord to work in these people and draw them mightily to Himself, taking away their hearts of stone and giving them hearts of flesh, sending us “significant rain” of blessing (and water too!) here in Kiari.

I’m most delighted to announce that our school meeting yesterday seemed to go quite well. Some of you could probably tell that I was kind of dreading it. After all, if I was in their place (many of them unbelievers) and someone told me that my child had to sit out of school for a year, I would probably be less than happy about it! However, God was good and as far as I could see there was no negative reaction whatsoever. The four students whose grade won’t be offered this year have two weeks to let Brother Randy know if they want to opt for the partial program of Bible, History, Vacation Stations, and a few extra weekly classes (Music, Health, PE). Please pray that they would if the Lord wills, and that either way they’d stay in Kiari and on the right track. Their names are Bandi (boy– about 14 and excellent in math), McGregor (boy– about 12 and a great writer), Esther (about 14 and a hard worker– academically “Most Improved” last year), and Sanange (girl– about 13– such a positive influence and probably our brightest student all-around). Also within the week Bro. Randy will be checking up on the summer conduct of all of the students to make sure they’re eligible to be re-enrolled before he officially accepts them for the new school year. Please pray that they will be able to be marked for the new year, but even more importantly that if there is any issue, the Lord would bring it to light and keep our school pure.

I do apologize for the delay since my last post. I was working on getting my prayer letter out, and it took three times (Wed., Sun., and another Wed.) before it finally went due to a faltering connection. So, needless to say, writing yet another update was about the furthest thing from my mind at the time. Then I just realized tonight that I left my little notebook at church where I record not only prayer requests but also daily events, so without that “cheat sheet” it’s harder to remember what’s gone on since I last posted. Let’s see… Last Friday the Smiths had a birthday party for their three girls and invited all of the church girls. I’d say about 30 of them came. I got to make cupcakes for it and was in charge of the games. That was fun. 🙂 We played tug of war, jump rope, clothespin tag, dodgeball, steal the bacon, and several other games that I can’t remember, and we also had a three-legged race and a relay game. I think the three-legged race was best– I wish you could have seen the looks on the kids’ faces and heard their giggles as they all frantically stumbled towards me with their buddies! 🙂

Well, it’s late and this is getting long so I’ll bid you goodnight. Have a great weekend!

Elizabeth

“O use me, Lord, use even me, Just as Thou wilt, and when, and where….” -Frances Ridley Havergal

