Answered prayer and a different kind of day

First I want to thank you all for praying for rain. The Lord answered right away! It appears that rainy season is finally starting, as we have gotten rain several nights in a row. Mrs. Smith was exulting the other day that we can now measure the water in our tanks by percents rather than inches. 🙂 I just radioed Brother Randy to ask what the latest figure was, and he said we’re at about 34%, and if I really wanted to bore you with the details, our total capacity (for all the missionaries) is 23,500 liters. For those (including me) who aren’t as familiar with the metric system, if I’m figuring right that’s 5,875 gallons, which means we now have nearly 2,000 gallons of water. What a HUGE blessing!!!

Today was a different kind of day– lots of firsts for me. There was a mining show at the Kensa hauslain having to do with a gold mine somewhere, and at 7:45 a representative came to the Smiths’ house to ask Brother Randy if he would preach at 8:30. 🙂 The Smiths called me to ask if I wanted to go along, and I most certainly did. 🙂 When I got to their house I about fell over because Brother Randy came out wearing a tie– the first I’ve seen in PNG. 🙂 We all piled into the truck and drove down to church (the first time I’ve ridden in a car in over a month if I remember right) and then walked the rest of the way to Kensa. (Yesterday when Jeff drove our poor old truck through there, Security (a combination of visiting policemen and regular Kiari guys with bows and arrows) told him not to come back because he was disturbing the peace! You have to hear our truck to really appreciate that– and you have to live in PNG for a while to realize how funny it is that they came up with that particular phrase!) There were loads of people, many of them prancing around all dressed up in their traditional leaves and feathers and paint– this is the first time I’ve seen that too. And I can’t fail to mention the THREE cars, which constitutes a definite traffic jam because usually ours is the only car in Kiari! Other than those elements, however, the whole thing reminded me of a standard hoopla in the States: groups of people sitting or standing on a hill facing the grandstand (though the grandstand was definitely different from any I’ve ever seen– I’m going to try to attach a picture so you’ll have to let me know if it goes through), many of them smoking (though here many of the cigarettes are homemade and likely contain something stronger than tobacco); little kids hanging on to big hands and looking around wide-eyed at everything; lengthy introductions of lots of dignitaries (including the governor, which was really a big deal) and lengthier speeches by said dignitaries, etc., etc. We left after those speeches because the next thing on the program was shouting and dancing in response to the speeches, followed by a “happy moment”, whatever that means. 🙂 Plus it was past noon, and lunch was sounding mighty good.

Brother Randy’s devotional actually preceded all of the speeches. He chose to preach about three things even more precious than gold: God’s Word, the blood of Jesus, and the souls of men. I sat there listening with tears running down my face as I thought about how many hundreds of lost people were hearing the gospel so clearly presented and prayed for them to really listen with open hearts. Please, please pray with me that the Lord would bring these words of His back to folks’ minds again and again and give them no rest until they turn to Him.

My school preparations are basically finished now, and I’m hoping to spend time “rounding”, as they say, with the girls and ladies while I have the chance before the busyness of the school year sets in. Please pray that my Pidgin would improve, that I’d gain a better understanding of Kiarians’ thinking and way of life, and that the Lord would give me opportunities to minister to them even as they teach and help me.

Hope you have a great rest of the week!

Elizabeth

“O use me, Lord, use even me, Just as Thou wilt, and when, and where….” -Frances Ridley Havergal

