Town and Home Again

I’m sitting in a guesthouse waiting for Mr. Smith & Co. to come and pick Karen and me up on their way back to Goroka, and since I have a few minutes I thought I’d tell you a little about our town trip.

We flew out of Kiari last Wednesday. There were three shuttles to get all of the Smiths, Karen and me, a sick boy and his companion, everyone’s luggage, fuel drums to be refilled, and lots of bags of local coffee out to Goroka. It was my first time on a helicopter and I enjoyed it. A Kiari lady described it really well– it’s very gentle, like riding in a swing. It was really neat to see Kiari from a bird’s eye view– though I had to look fast because it only took us about half a minute to leave it behind!

Well, that didn’t get too far! Now I’m back in Kiari two days after writing the above, and let me tell you, it’s WONDERFUL to be home! I’m back into the rush finishing up report cards and working on lesson plans for the coming weeks. Town was great but I don’t have too much to say about it so I’ll leave it at that. I guess I’m just a “meri bilong ples”– homebody. 🙂

When I walked into my house yesterday I was greeted by a mountain of boxes– Christmas in February!! Our last town trip was the beginning of December so we missed all but one truly early bird box. 🙂 I saw a pile of boxes in the hangar while I was in town and opened a few from my family, but most of them were flown out to Kiari and were waiting for me when I arrived. It was overwhelming to open them all and see how very many of you were so generous and sweet to think of me, both for Christmas and for my birthday. THANK YOU!!!

Please pray for me as I finish up the above-mentioned schoolwork and begin second term on Monday. I need the Lord’s help not only for this “job” of mine but also just to keep right with Him. Never let yourself think that missionaries are somehow “above” the normal struggles that everybody else has to deal with every day– we’re not! Pray for us the same things that you pray for yourself! Now, since I said that please don’t get all worried that I’m going through a really hard time or something– I’m not; I’ve just been reminded lately of how much I need the Lord’s help in everything.

I hope you all have a great weekend!

Elizabeth

“O use me, Lord, use even me, Just as Thou wilt, and when, and where….” -Frances Ridley Havergal

