School, graun bruks, and cooking from scratch

The last couple of weeks have been busy but fulfilling. School has been going exceptionally well. I’m trying to add in more “extra” things this term– Music class, challenges and extra activities in different classes, etc. It’s fun to see the kids enjoy and learn. I am so very blessed to have interested, hard working students. My teaching job would probably be the envy of just about any teacher in the U.S.!

I wasn’t thinking of this when I said that, but typing it reminded me that we really are in need of another teacher. Please pray with us that the Lord would provide!

School funnies: Today on a history test I gave extra credit for anything the students could remember learning during this section that WASN’T on the test. One poor little guy said something to the effect of, “No, there wasn’t anything!” Another student wrote a detailed description of the map, saying that at the top was the Mediterranean, under that was the Nile River delta, and under that was the Golden Age of Eypt! 🙂 I think that was the map title, but she must have thought it was a place. 🙂

Last night it poured rain like crazy. It’s rainy season and has been raining a good bit, but I don’t think I’ve ever heard it rain that hard. The noise of the rain on our tin roof was so deafening I could hardly hear myself think, which isn’t helpful when you’re trying to put together a test! This morning all but one of my students were late to school because two big graun bruks (landslides) came down and blocked the road they walk on to get to school.

One of the joys of bush living is cooking from scratch (and I’m not being sarcastic). It’s definitely more work, though not as much as you might think, and I think it’s much more tasty and probably a lot more healthy than a lot of the convenience food eaten in the States. Tonight I made pizza, and here that means make your own crust, your own sauce, and even your own sausage (no pepperoni here)! I had a fire going anyway to heat water and dry my laundry so I went ahead and baked the pizza in the woodstove. Yum!

Please pray for some upcoming events: a ladies’ Bible study and some children’s Bible clubs in different hauslains. Pray that even now the Lord would be preparing hearts. Please pray also for fruit from our weekly evangelistic fellowships in the hauslains. Last week was in a strong SDA hauslain, and lots of people came and heard a clear presentation of the gospel. Two men from this hauslain have bought Bibles– please pray that they’ll read them and that God’s Word would do its work in their hearts.

Well, it’s getting late and I’m off at 6:45 in the morning to go to prayer meeting, so I’ll close for now. Hope you all have a great weekend! Thank you so much for your prayers.

Elizabeth

“O use me, Lord, use even me, Just as Thou wilt, and when, and where….” -Frances Ridley Havergal

Due to my limited connection in Kiari, I have to limit the file size of incoming messages. Plain text—even a long letter—will come through just fine, but I may not be able to receive an email with pictures or attachments. Thank you for your help with this! ☺

