Doris; Extra-happy news :-)

Please pray for a girl named Doris. The other day I was reading my Bible as I waited for someone at my gate, and three children came up. They didn’t need anything but just kept standing there, so I asked them if they wanted to hear the story I was reading. It was Joshua 24, and I translated the story to tell them all about the amazing things God did for His people. When I got to the end they were still interested, so I shared the gospel with them. They told me they had never heard it before. Please pray that they’ll think about it and the Lord will use what they heard to work in their hearts and save them. It was two little boys whose names I can’t remember, and a teenaged girl named Doris who listened especially intently.

One of the funny moments in school this week was when Raphael came to me with a question about his Science test. It was in a section where you had to choose whether certain items would absorb or reflect sound. Raphael wanted to know what “carpet” was. It made me laugh, because I certainly don’t think there’s a carpet anywhere in Kiari, and maybe not even in the entire Simbu province! 🙂

The rest of this post is especially for those of you who read my blog but don’t get my prayer letters. If you do get my prayer letters, you will be getting it twice.

“Now unto Him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think…” (Eph. 3:20)

I’m so excited to finally be able to share with you the happy news that has been so close to popping out for my last several letters. 🙂 Do you remember the quote from Mrs. C. H. Spurgeon that I shared with you in my first prayer letters when I told about how the Lord had redirected me from Zambia? It was a huge encouragement to me at the time. She said, “It is a mercy that our lives are not left for us to plan, but that our Father chooses for us; else might we sometimes turn away from our best blessings, and put from us the choicest and loveliest gifts of His providence.” As you know, I had my heart set on going to Zambia and it was really hard when the Lord closed that door. Then He opened the door to PNG—a place I had heard of but had to look on the map to find!! It’s hard for me to believe that I came, looking back and considering that I didn’t know a soul here and it’s about the most secluded place you could ask for: a little village on the side of a mountain tucked away at the very end of the road in the “boonies” of a little-known country on the total opposite side of the world! Little did I know what a “best blessing” the Lord had in store for me. I’ve already told you many times how much I’ve grown to love Kiari, but unbeknownst to me, the Lord also had the best sweetheart in the whole world waiting for me here. He’s fellow GFA missionary Jeff Owens, the tall handsome guy standing next to me in our team picture (attached). 🙂 I’m still having a hard time believing that such a godly, humble, faithful man would fall for me… but he has, and in case you can’t tell, I’ve certainly completely fallen for him! 🙂 We are planning to be married this summer. I’m so very honored, privileged, and EXCITED to spend my life serving the Lord alongside my Jeff in Kiari.

When I was in college one of my professors remarked with regard to Ephesians 3:20 that we’re usually not willing to ask everything that we think of, but our God is able to give us exceeding abundantly above even what we would ever think! He has certainly done that in my life, exceeding what I would have ever dreamed of, much less asked for! I am very, very blessed. Please pray for Jeff and me as we seek the Lord’s direction for all the particulars of getting married, and join us in praising our loving Lord for His exceeding, abundant goodness to us. 🙂

For the sake of His name,
The future Mrs. Jeff Owens 🙂

P. S. If you’re interested, Jeff’s website is jeffowenspng.com

“O use me, Lord, use even me, Just as Thou wilt, and when, and where….” -Frances Ridley Havergal

Due to my limited connection in Kiari, I have to limit the file size of incoming messages. Plain text—even a long letter—will come through just fine, but I may not be able to receive an email with pictures or attachments. Thank you for your help with this! ☺

