Our Trustworthy God

Dear praying friends,

I’ve been wanting to write for a long time, both to share blessings and to clarify (for those who haven’t guessed) that since I’ve become a wife and more recently a mommy, the purpose of this blog has gradually shifted from “more frequent updates” (which are now sent out via MailChimp to everyone who receives our prayer letters by email) to something more like “what God has been teaching me” (geared more towards women, obviously. and, as you’ve probably noticed, sent out much less frequently than before, since God has given me other responsibilities that take precedence over blogging!). If you were depending on this blog for news about our family and ministry, please let me know so I can add you to the other list!

Throughout our furlough ministry this past year, our theme has been God’s trustworthiness. It’s something He taught us so much about over our first term and continues to lovingly confirm to our hearts. (Having a little one definitely opens my eyes in a whole new way to so many things about my Heavenly Father and myself as His little child!) Something I’ve shared with many people, from friends facing difficult decisions to young people wondering what God wants them to do, is my daddy’s oft-repeated statement: “God has a way of making Himself clear” (i.e., I can trust Him to show me His will). The test is, of course, “Am I willing to wait for that?” Not long ago I stumbled across this passage that says it so much better than I could and has become very precious to me:

I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go: I will guide thee with Mine eye.

Be ye not as the horse, or as the mule, which have no understanding: whose mouth must be held in with bit and bridle, lest they come near unto thee.

Many sorrows shall be to the wicked:
but he that trusteth in the LORD, mercy shall compass him about.

Be glad in the LORD, and rejoice, ye righteous:
and shout for joy, all ye that are upright in heart.

Psalms 32:8-11

Will you take a moment right now to pray that I won’t be headstrong and try to take the bit in my teeth and rush ahead of the Lord, but instead make it a life habit to trust Him to the point of not just setting my teeth and grimly enduring hard things (big or small), but actually rejoicing the whole time as I rest in His mercy and love and wisdom and power?

Thank you, dear friends!

Elizabeth Owens

