School

That word really sums up what takes up the vast majority of my time. I feel like these posts are running a little dry because people probably don’t always want to be reading about school, but it’s really my life! It keeps me busy six days a week, and sometimes to late hours of the night. Please don’t get the idea that I’m killing myself; I’ve adapted our schedule to be light on days with church activities in the afternoon and sometimes other days are short (today was because we had lots of tests), but the longer ones have just been much more common lately. I desire so much to do the very best I can to give my students an excellent education. Please pray that the Lord will continue to give wisdom and strength for this big job!

Honestly, there is rarely a dull moment at Joy Christian School! Not that we’re always uproarious, but we have a great deal of fun. 🙂 In 2nd grade reading this week we were studying a play, and so I had the middlers and 5th graders join us so we could have more people to cover all the parts. One of the things I’m really working on them about is reading English expressively, and so I made them really try to put some life into the parts, which they all thought was hilarious. For instance, “Grandmother Cricket” had to click her tongue and tap her cane, and the Big Raccoon had to talk in a mean, rough voice. Of course when they did everyone else burst out laughing. 🙂 I think it was enjoyable for all, and hopefully just as profitable as fun. 🙂

Another funny thing was that last week I just gave one student 8/10 on her journal and wrote a note telling her to try to make it longer next time. At the end of my comment I put a smiley face. Well, when I got her journal back this week she had scribbled out my smiley face and drawn two sad faces. One of them even had tears! That made me laugh several times throughout the day when I remembered it. 🙂 And I can’t neglect to say that this week her journal was much more thoroughly done, so I was glad to be able to give her 10/10. 🙂

I’ve been really praying that the students would open up to me and let me have a more personal ministry with them. I think I’ve also asked you to pray about that; please keep it up. Last week for the first time ever a student came to me and apologized for petty stealing—something I’ve known was going on, but no student has ever owned up to it. She said that the Lord convicted her through the preaching at church on Wednesday night and she couldn’t sleep. She’d made it right with the Lord and wanted to make it right with me, and then asked me to pray with her and ask the Lord to help her do right. I felt like crying and jumping for joy all at the same time!!! Please pray that the Lord would similarly work in other students’ hearts and that they’d be tender to His working. I’m specifically praying that they’ll be uncomfortable in their sin.

Thank you so much for “holding the ropes” for me through your prayers. Please don’t ever underestimate the importance of this big part you have in my ministry here!

Elizabeth

“O use me, Lord, use even me, Just as Thou wilt, and when, and where….” -Frances Ridley Havergal

Due to my limited connection in Kiari, I have to limit the file size of incoming messages. Plain text—even a long letter—will come through just fine, but I may not be able to receive an email with pictures or attachments. Thank you for your help with this! ☺